Accessibility Tools

Tips & How To’s

Have You Met Community Futures Tawatinaw Region?

Have You Met Community Futures Tawatinaw Region?


I realized that for many of you our Blog may be your first introduction to Community Futures. So, I thought it would be helpful for me to share with you who we are, where we came from and what we do. 

Community Futures Tawatinaw Region is one of 27 Community Futures offices spread across Alberta, serving various rural regions across the province. Funded in Western Canada by Prairies Economic Development Canada, we were established in 1986 by Employment and Immigration Canada (now named Service Canada). Since that time, we have been helping people just like you turn business ideas into reality in our region

a27d24 c2143b1377174d69abf345761a36a130 mv2Tawatinaw Region Map


The Community Futures Tawatinaw Region includes the following towns and counties: Sturgeon County, the town of Morinville, Westlock County, the town of Westlock, Thorhild County, the town of Thorhild, Athabasca County, the town of Athabasca and everywhere in between. 


The first thing you need to know about Community Futures Tawatinaw Region is, that we are a Not-For -Profit and many of the services we provide are completely FREE. We are a community driven organization staffed by business professionals and guided by a volunteer Board of Directors.

We provide a wide range of small business support services and business management tools for people wanting to start, expand, buy, relocate, or even sell a business. We offer advice, guidance, business plan writing assistance, cash flow forecasting, marketing help, marketing plan assistance and so much more. Our business analysts are extremely knowledgeable, and they want to support your business dreams anyway they can.

Community Futures Tawatinaw Region also provides a wide range of hands-on, practical small business courses for a reasonable fee. It's our goal to offer easy access to the small business skills local business owners and entrepreneurs need to grow and succeed. Our courses include topics such as: Facebook for Business, Instagram for Business, Basic Accounting, Starting a Business 101 and many, many more. We are constantly expanding our course offerings to serve our region better. To see our current courses click here.



In addition to our many other services, Communities Futures Tawatinaw Region also provides small business financing. We offer a variety of customized, affordable loan and line of credit options for small business owners and entrepreneurs in our region, ranging from $500 to $150,000. We are known for saying “YES” when other lenders say “NO”, and for having flexible qualification criteria. Our goal is to help you succeed so that our communities become better places to live and work.

At Community Futures Tawatinaw Region our staff are small business specialists, who take the time to really understand your business ideas and roll up their sleeves to help you make them happen. We are here to offer support and guidance to local businesses anyway that we can. We are here for rural small business owners, entrepreneurs, and start-ups in our region through every stage of business.

 From startup to success we support small business!

kelly harris martin general managerKelly Harris Martin General Manager    ron rogers cftr staffRon Rogers      Business Analyst   amanda robinson cftr staffAmanda Robinson Marketing Analyst   jayme baxter cftr staff memberJayme Baxter    Youth Coordinator

Now that we’ve been properly introduced, we are no longer strangers and hopefully no longer a secret, so please don’t hesitate to reach out to us. We love our rural Alberta communities and the local businesses in them, and we’d love to hear from you, and to help you make your business dreams a reality, contact us today.

Contact Us

10611 - 100 Avenue
Westlock, AB  T7P 2J4
P: 780-349-2903

Communities Served

Abee, Alcomdale, Alpen, Athabasca, Atmore, Beamer, Bon Accord, Bondiss, Boyle, Busby, Calahoo, Calling Lake, Carbondale, Cardiff, Chisolm, Clyde, Colinton, Coronado, County of Athabasca, County of Thorhild, Dapp, Duagh, Egremont, Ellscott, Fawcett, Flatbush, Gibbons, Grassland, Halasa, Hondo, Island Lake, Island Lake South, Jarvie, Kerensky, Lamoureux, Lancaster Park, Larkspur, Legal, Sturgeon County, Westlock County, Meanook, Mearns, Mewatha Beach, Morinville, Namao, Nesto, Newbrook, Opal, Perryvale, Pibroch, Pickardville, Pine Sands, Radway, Red Water, Riviere Qui Barre, Rochester, Smith, South Baptiste, Sunset Beach, Tawatinaw, Thorhild, Villeneuve, Vimy, Westlock, Whispering Hills, White Gull